For some people perhaps it’s very easy to master the English language. They were born in the countries that have English as their mother tongue. They pass day by day speaking in English as their parents teach them. It starts from an emotional relationship and a sign language. They see person to person talking and telling jokes in English. They go to school and learn English alphabet. They understand easily when people speak fast, and they laugh when it’s funny.

Mastering English is a must nowadays. Literally, it’s not really a compulsion. If you don’t like English, then you can leave the English class, and making business. The business gives you knowledge, experiences, and assuredly money. Money offers you the opportunity to do anything and to go every where. You want to leave for France, you just have to buy the tickets, prepare the passport, and sort of the things. Tomorrow is the day you are going to take a good picture in the view of the Eiffel Tower behind you, and show it up on your Instagram account.

English Skills
English is Global

Image source: http://www.dorset-college.ie

Sadly, the business needs more sacrifice. Business needs the capital literacy. Capital literacy contains two words, capital and literacy. Capital itself means money. It’s money to start the business in order to gain more money. However, it’s not everyone who has enough money to start the business. They may come from an impoverished family who the tuition fee for the school is paid off by the government subvention. They finally have to work harder to gain that ‘more money’.

In the globalization era where all the people over the world can travel unrestrainedly to apply for jobs and live in, we know communication should take a big part. Those who experience impediment in the economy may dream to work in some good companies after graduated college. Applying jobs can be a matter as it requires many skills, such as requirements to be able to speak English fluently, computer programming, working under pressure, and negotiation skill. The company needs the pack of requisites with an eye to survive in the globalization business. It doesn’t only expect a local demand, but international customers. The company wants to ensure that it does exports abroad well and can broaden its market worldwide. Thus, it needs many professionals to work with.

The company exacts the first skill in order to gain its vision and mission. The first skill is the skill that helps the company to have a link and get a good impression, also relation. The good relation can be intertwined by a good communication. And the standard of the international communication language is English which is the most familiar language as it’s been learned by almost every students in the elementary school and high schools. In otherwise, it’s not everyone who can understand English easily. If you can write, sometimes it doesn’t always mean you can speak. If you can speak, it doesn’t always mean you can listen. There are people who don’t have access to a very good school and good English course. And they lose their dream job because of it.

The people who have the capital literacy I’ve told you above should also master English indirectly. That is if they wish to make their business bigger aside from a sincere heart so that can help to reduce the number of unemployment in their community by running a social business. Someday, they can be invited to be a speaker in an international seminar to present the way they started the business which certainly needs the communication skill in English.

For me, learning English is a quite big deal. I also had a terrible time for the first time trying to learn more than just getting a good score on an English exam. Doing an English exam in the first year of my junior high school was easy. It took our ability to memorize. The teachers asked us about what we needed to prepare before going school. And I answered it was going to be uniform, a pencil case including ballpoint, pencil, and sort of the things, also books and dictionary in case of an English class. I got a very good mark. Yet, I feel that it wasn’t thing that I supposed to do. I didn’t want just looking for the certain words and wrote down the pronunciation to remember it all the time as the teacher assigned a drama session. I wanted to be more than it. And I finally found the best way I could learn.

I got many difficulties to write and read, and speak. I got a decline from some people to teach me. I surely got much criticism because of writing badly. But I also got many positive inputs that being a turning point for me in this phase of learning English. I respected people who had given me critics because it tremendously changed the way I wrote sentences and the way I asked questions. I love them so much. And I couldn’t be more thankful than encountering them to save my ignorance.

18236563_1613284262047392_486391112_o
We Couldn’t Speak English

Nowadays, I can tell you that I still get many troubles in writing English when the topic is about a certain discipline. I understand that writing, especially in Natural Science as my major in the university needs a plentiful of specific vocabularies. And it probably also requires a variety of vocabularies even if it’s just a simple diary in our own notebook.

My ambition lately brought me to an English course not far from my senior high school as my sister recommended me there. She said she also had a friend who studied there, and she convinced me that I would be learning listening tasks and much more. Listening is my first purpose and then speaking as my dream skill. I got much erudition. I could learn more in reading as my complement of writing skill I got from the internet and Facebook. I have also learned to speak English in front of my mirror. I know that it’s not as perfect as a native English speaker. So that, I need more time to learn and learn.

I have a bigger dream than just filling the page of a form to apply for a job with ‘speaking English passively or actively’. I have a bigger dream that you guys may have known from my previous post. I didn’t write it in a very specific accomplishment, but I firmly believe you know what it is in brief.

We are Indonesian people. And we talk in the Indonesian language as our mother tongue. If you are an American, maybe it’s not easy for you to master French. If you are a Frenchman, maybe it’s a little bit difficult for you to understand Mandarin Chinese. If you are a Chinese, maybe it will need more time for you to learn Spanish. If you are a Spanish, maybe it shouldn’t be easy for you to read Japan, and that follows.

So, my point here is it’s okay to not write well as a native speaker of your learning language. However, if you can do the best, why not. And it’s okay to need more time to practice speaking and enriching your vocabularies. It’s also fine to repeat the listening audio by pressing the on button one more time so that you can get the point and keywords of what the people on the audio speak about. It’s not a fault that you have to be stressed out because it’s named as a barrier language. And of course, there is always been an appreciation for you to scrape the barrier. The biggest appreciation is love. You find love in learning. You find happiness in trying. You find joy in seeking.

We couldn’t speak English because:
1.We aren’t English native speakers
2.We aren’t majoring in English literature
3.We aren’t rich enough for having all time English course

We couldn’t speak English, and that’s why we learn.

~

“One languange sets you in a corridor for life. Two languanges open every door along the way” – Frank Smith.
“You can never understand one language until you understand at least two” – Geoffrey Willans.
“The limits of my languange are the limits of my world” – Ludwig Wittgenstein.

“To have another languange is to possess a second soul” – Charlemagne.

We can also discuss about:
a) How many languange you have learned?
b) What are/is the languange(s)?
c) Do you like learning a new languange?
d) Have you ever experienced difficulty in understanding the foreign language?
e) Do you find any grammar mistakes or the inapproprite use of vocabularies in this post? If yes, I’d like to know what it is.